Dude, she can't even get a driver's license.

Girls may look older, act older, and even say yes – but having sex with them is still illegal if they're under 16.

Speak up, don't let your friends take advantage of younger girls. Use this website to learn the law in Nevada and California or to access local advocacy and education resources.

Don't risk it, learn more

This public awareness campaign was supported by the Nevada State Health Division through Grant # 3B01DP0009040 from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent official views of the Nevada State Health Division nor the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Let Your Friends Know

Speak up, don't let your friends take advantage of younger girls. If your friend is 18 and having sex with someone under 16, they could go to jail. Help them learn the law.

And remember, it doesn't matter if you don't know she's under 16 or if she lies to you about her age, you could still go to jail.

Go it! What is Nevada's law?

Nevada Law

What exactly is statutory rape?

In Nevada, statutory rape is legally known as statutory sexual seduction, and is defined as consensual sexual penetration committed by a person 18 years of age or older with a person under the age of 16 years. Sexual penetration means ANY type of penetration; that includes fingering, vaginal intercourse, anal sex, and oral sex. It does not matter if they say yes to sex, it is still illegal!

Is statutory rape a crime?

Yes! Statutory rape is illegal in Nevada. If the perpetrator is 21 years of age or older, they can be convicted of a felony (yep, that means jail time). If the perpetrator is under the age of 21, they can be sent to jail and/or be charged a $2,000 fine.

You can find all of the details on statutory sexual seduction at the Nevada Public Health Foundation's Statutory Rape online Resource Center.

And what about California?

California Law

What is statutory rape?

In California, statutory rape (also known as unlawful sexual intercourse) takes place when an adult engages in consensual sexual intercourse with a minor. An “adult” is a person 18 years of age or older, and a “minor” is a person under the age of 18. Sexual intercourse includes fingering, vaginal intercourse, anal sex, and oral sex. It does not matter if they say yes to sex, it is still illegal!

So what exactly is illegal?

Any adult who engages in sexual intercourse with a minor who is more than three years younger than them is guilty of statutory rape, and will be punished by imprisonment. This means that if an 18 year-old has sex with a 14 year-old, the 18 year-old can be convicted of statutory rape and be sent to prison.

Any adult who engages in sexual intercourse with a minor who is three or less years younger than them is guilty of a misdemeanor. So, if an 18 year-old man has oral sex with a 16 year-old girl, that man is guilty of statutory rape.

In addition to jail time, people convicted of statutory rape in California can also be fined civil penalties of up to $25,000. You can find all of the details on California's statutory rape laws through the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Have questions?

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Can I be found guilty of statutory sexual seduction (statutory rape) in Nevada even if I did not know the person was under 16 or even if they lied about it?
A: Yes, if you are 18 you can be found guilty of statutory rape even if you did not know the person was underage.
Q: What if our parents think the relationship is ok?
A: It does not matter if your parents approve of the relationship, it is still a crime.
Q: How can I help a friend who is 18 or older and is currently having sexual relations with a person under 16?
A: Tell them to visit this website to learn the law and penalties. Being arrested for this crime could change their entire future. "Don't risk it, learn the law."
Q: What if I am 17 and my girlfriend is 15 and we are having sexual relations, is that still a crime in Nevada?
A: Sexual behavior that occurs within this age group is not statutory sexual seduction. But any sexual behavior regardless of age should be based on consent, communication, and mutual respect.
Q: I'm turning 18 next month and my girlfriend is 15. In Nevada, does this mean we have to wait until she is 16 to have sex again?
A: Yes. If your girlfriend is still 15 when you become 18, sexual activity is illegal.
Q: In Nevada, what happens if statutory sexual seduction is reported to law enforcement?
A: The perpetrator may be arrested and go to trial even though the sexual behavior was consensual. Statutory sexual seduction is a crime. The law enforcement officer and/or the victim may contact sexual assault support services who can arrange for a medical professional to conduct a forensic medical exam.

Need more info?

Resources

Nevada & California

Nationwide

Campaign Resources

  • Poster (English) | Poster (Español)
  • Public Service Announcement
  • For more information on this campaign, please contact